My Lo Mein Brings all the Boys to the Yard. Hack Two

I moved to the Southern United States a few years ago from the Northeast.  Among being behind socially about 60 years I noticed a severe lack of decent ethnic food. I am impressed with the local fare, such as barbeque and soul food but it was no substitute for local Mom and Pop Pizza or Chinese food.

Pizza was easy to duplicate. Asian food, not so much. I assumed I must use all of these complex and rare ingredients. It took me years to master and my spice cabinet has flourished. I have spent much time at Asian markets searching for magic ingredients. I have tried so many different rice noodles…

Lo Mein. There are two hacks to Lo Mein.- Barilla linguine Noodles and Butter. These two ingredients took my Lo Mein from Hamburger Helper quality to DC takeout.

Quit wasting your hard-earned money on take-out. Lets cook.

When shopping at the local grocery store, my first stop is always produce. They mark down things that have an expiration date within 2 days by up to 70%! When I see this I plan my menus around what is marked down or on sale.

I can find Stir-fry bags for 99 cents! I like the ones that contain Bok Choy, Broccoli, and snow peas.  Cabbage is a big deal in Asian cooking. Napa or Bok Choy are imperative.

**Ginger—– You must have granulated ginger and either a ginger root or freeze-dried ginger. I keep a peeled ginger root in the freezer. When I am ready to make the sauce, instead of using water I steep a scant teaspoon of grated ginger in 4 oz hot water to make a ginger tea base.

Easy Button Lo Mein

1 LB Barilla linguine noodles

1/2 stick of butter

1 bag of stir fry vegetables that includes Asian cabbage or (matchstick carrots, snow peas, broccoli florets, cabbage, onions and colorful peppers)

**Ginger

1/2 cup soy sauce

1 TBS Honey or Sugar (Honestly, sugar works better)

1 tsp rice wine or rice wine vinegar

1 tsp  minced garlic

1/2 tsp chili/garlic paste (exclude if you are sensitive to heat)

a dash of sesame oil

Scallions

1 heaping tsp cornstarch.

Sauce preparation

See above tip for making ginger tea and let steep for 10 minutes. Add soy, sugar, vinegar, garlic, chili paste, sesame oil- mix well.  Right before adding to the meal, when it has cooled, add cornstarch and mix thoroughly.

Instructions

Boil noodles to al dente. As soon as you drain them, do not rinse, put them back into hot cooking vessel and add half a stick of butter with a sprinkle of Granulated garlic, and ginger. Mix well coating noodles.  This will help sauce stick to noodles and give the mouth-feel of take out lo mein.

In a hot skillet saute carrots, onions and peppers until soft.

Add remaining Vegetables cook hot and fast until al dente. Remove from heat. I do sprinkle the vegetables with garlic powder, ginger and soy after removing from heat.

Add to Vegetables and sauce to noodles.

Return to heat and simmer for 5 minutes until everything is incorporated.

Add extra soy to taste.

Garnish with scallions.

Top with your favorite grilled- Chicken, steak and/or Mushrooms, Zucchini cut into strips. Or it is great as is.

This is even better reheated for lunch the next day. 🙂 YUM

When I finally figured out how easy this was after years of attempting complex recipes, a wave of relief washed over me.

From start to finish this recipe takes 20 minutes.  It is also very economically sound.

Please enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

